
Thank you for taking part in the recent rules quiz; answers for all questions are below. We hope 
that familiarity with rules about when boats meet will help you enjoy racing at the club. We’d 
encourage you to read these explanations alongside the relevant rule in the rule book. 

Don’t forget rule 15. “Room” and “Keep Clear” 

 

 

Q1a is the normal windward / leeward situation. Blue is windward 

boat throughout (rule 11), and must keep clear. Blue fails to keep 

clear of Yellow at Position 3. Blue breaks rule 11. 

Q1b is different. At Positions 1 and 2 Yellow is clear astern, so during 

this time Yellow must keep clear of Blue (rule 12). 

When Yellow and Blue become overlapped after Position 2, Yellow 

becomes the right-of-way boat (rule 11), and Blue must keep clear.  

Rule 15 (ACQUIRING RIGHT OF WAY) states when Yellow acquires 

right of way, she must initially give Blue room to keep clear. Blue 

must act promptly she is overlapped, which she does.  

Yellow does not give Blue room to keep clear. Yellow breaks rule 15. 

Keep clear: “[allowing] the right of way boat to sail her course with 

no need to take avoiding action …” 

Room: “the space a boat needs … when manoeuvring promptly in a 

seamanlike way.” 

. Rule 16.1 limits what the right of way boat may do! 

 

 

A keep clear boat must allow a right of way boat to sail her course, 

i.e. “Continue to sail in the same direction.” 

When a right of way boat changes course, she must comply with 

rule 16.1 (CHANGING COURSE), and give the other boat room to 

keep clear. The other boat must react promptly. 

Q2a Yellow has right of way throughout. At Position 1 Yellow is on 

starboard and Blue is on port (rule 10). Thereafter Yellow is 

leeward and Blue is windward (rule 11). 

When Yellow changes course between Positions 2 and 3, Blue 

reacts promptly but cannot keep clear. Yellow does not give Blue 

room to keep clear. Yellow breaks rule 16.1. 

Q2b Blue has right of way throughout – first as leeward boat (rule 

11), then as starboard-tack boat (rule 10). Blue does not change 

course. Yellow fails to keep clear and breaks rule 10. 

Moral: don’t sail a run on port tack! 

 Who chooses which side? Check rules 19.2(a) & (b).

 

Approaching an obstruction, the right-of-way boat may choose 

which side to pass (rule 19.2(a)).  

At an obstruction, an outside boat must give an inside overlapped 

boat room between her and the obstruction (rule 19.2(b)). 

Q3a At Position 2, the boats are at the obstruction and overlapped. 

Blue is inside so Yellow must give Blue room, which she does not do. 

Yellow breaks rule 19.2(b). 



Q3b Yellow has right of way (rule 11) and chooses to pass to 

windward of the obstruction, which she is entitled to do.  

When Yellow changes course she gives Blue room to keep clear so 

Yellow complies with rule 16.1.  

Blue fails to keep clear of Yellow. Blue breaks rule 11. 

Note: When the obstruction is a mark, Rule 19 does not apply (rule 

19.1(a)). Rule 18 applies instead. 

 It’s all about “the CORRIDOR”, and not being “WIDE” 

 

 

When the first of two boats reaches the zone, the boat 

overlapped on the outside, or the boat clear astern, must 

thereafter give the other boat mark-room (rule 18.2(b)). 

Mark room is room to sail to the mark (i.e. a straight course from 

where the boat is to alongside the mark), and then room to round 

the mark without touching it. Many call this “the CORRIDOR”. 

If outside boat Blue gives Yellow the CORRIDOR, Blue gives Yellow 

the mark-room required by rule 18.2(b). 

When inside boat Yellow is in the CORRIDOR, she is “safe”. If 

Yellow then breaks a rule (like port / starboard) with Blue, she is 

exonerated (rule 43.1(b)) and Blue will have broken 18.2(b). 

When inside boat Yellow is NOT in the CORRIDOR, the normal 

right-of-way rules (normally rule 10 or 11) decide any incident. 

Q4a From Position 1 Blue gives Yellow mark-room. Blue gives 

Yellow the CORRIDOR; Yellow sails in it. No boat breaks a rule.  

Q4b From Position 1 Blue gives Yellow the CORRIDOR. But Yellow 

doesn’t sail in it – she is “WIDE”. At Position 2 Yellow (port) fails to 

keep clear of Blue (starboard). Yellow breaks rule 10.

Follow the procedure in rule 20.2. Great for overtaking! 

 

 

When Yellow, sailing close-hauled or above , approaches shallow water, 

she may hail Blue, a boat on the same tack, for room to tack (rule 20.1). 

After Yellow hails, she must give Blue time to respond (rule 20.2(a)). 

Blue must respond (rule 20.2(c)) either by: 

i. tacking as soon as possible; or 

ii. immediately replying “You tack”, and then giving Yellow room to 

tack and avoid her. 

When Blue responds, Yellow must tack as soon as possible (rule 20.2(d)). 

Q5a Blue fails to respond to Yellow’s hail. Blue breaks rule 20.2(c). 

Q5b Blue responds as required, and must now give Yellow room to tack 

and avoid Blue. Yellow tacks as soon as possible as required.  

Between Positions 4 and 5 Blue luffs. This luff gives Yellow room first to 

tack (completed at Position 4), and then to avoid Blue by tacking again. 

Both boats comply with their obligations. No boat breaks a rule. 

Note Yellow must tack as soon as possible after Blue responds. If Yellow 

sails on for a length into the slack water, she breaks rule 20.2(d). Yellow 

should hail as late as she can while still giving Blue time to respond. 



 Rules 18.3, 19.2(c), and 11 + 17.

 

Rule 18.3 applies at port-hand windward marks only.  

Q6a To help an orderly rounding, rule 18.3 gives advantage to Blue, who 

is fetching the mark on starboard tack when she reaches the zone, over 

Yellow, who will need to tack from port to starboard in the zone. 

Rule 18.3 states that when Yellow passes head-to-wind from port to 

starboard inside the zone, she must then: 

i. not cause Blue to sail above close-hauled to avoid her; 

ii. give mark-room to Blue if Blue becomes overlapped inside her.  

After Yellow tacks, her luff to round the mark causes Blue to sail above 

close-hauled to keep clear, so Yellow breaks rule 18.3.  

Blue is making a “perfect” approach on the lay-line, and Yellow can only 

avoid breaking rule 18.3 by passing astern of her before tacking. If Blue is 

above the lay-line, Yellow may have space to “nip inside” - but it’s a risk! 
 

Rule 19.2(c) is for estuary sailors sailing along a bank on a reach or run 

against the tide. It says whether a boat astern may “poke her nose in”. 

Q6b Yellow, a boat that was clear astern and required to keep clear 

(Position 1), becomes overlapped between Blue and the bank (Position 2). 

Rule 19.2(c) states that if, at the moment Yellow becomes overlapped, the 

gap is NOT wide enough for Yellow to sail through, then Yellow is NOT 

entitled to room, and must keep clear while the boats remain overlapped. 

Whereas if the gap IS at that moment wide enough, Yellow may sail into it, 

and will then, as is normal for the inside boat, be entitled by rule 19.2(b) to 

room between Blue and the bank while the boats remain overlapped. 

In Q6b, when Yellow becomes overlapped, there is not space for Yellow to 

sail between the end of Blue’s boom and the bank. So rule 19.2(c) applies 

and Yellow must keep clear. Yellow breaks rule 19.2(c) at Position 3. 
 

  

 

Q6c Rule 17 is the PROPER COURSE rule. It states that if Yellow, which was 

clear astern, becomes overlapped less than two lengths to leeward of Blue 

on the same tack, she shall not sail above a proper course while the boats 

remain on the same tack and overlapped within two lengths. 

Rule 17 applies in addition to normal rule 11. Blue must still keep clear. 

At Position 2 Yellow becomes overlapped from clear astern, so rule 17 

applies to her. Between Positions 2 and 3 Yellow sails above her proper 

course, so Yellow breaks rule 17. 

At Position 3 Blue fails to keep clear of Yellow, so Blue breaks rule 11. 

This is the only common incident when boats meet and both might have to 

take a penalty. Blue’s correct action is to keep clear and protest. 

Proper Course: A course Blue would choose to sail … to finish as soon as 

possible in the absence of Yellow (the other boat in the rule 17 incident). 

 

 


